Miracle-Gro Premium Potting Mix 8qt - image 1 of 4Miracle-Gro Premium Potting Mix 8qt - image 2 of 4Miracle-Gro Premium Potting Mix 8qt - image 3 of 4Miracle-Gro Premium Potting Mix 8qt - image 4 of 4
Miracle-Gro Premium Potting Mix 8qt - image 1 of 4
$5.39When purchased online

About this item

Highlights

  • Grows Plants Twice as Big!®* *vs. unfed plants
  • Feeds up to 6 months
  • More blooms for more color* *vs. unfed plants
  • For indoor and outdoor container plants
  • For use in containers

Specifications

Weight: 6.65 Pounds
Capacity (Volume): 8 Quart
Used For: House Plants, Plants, Growing Flowers, Growing Vegetables, Flowers
Maximum Coverage Area: 100 Square Feet
TCIN: 13983742
UPC: 132247567838
Item Number (DPCI): 084-16-0301
Origin: Made in the USA or Imported

Description

Your plants want to show off. Give indoor and outdoor container plants the right ingredients to grow bigger and more beautiful with Miracle-Gro® Potting Mix. Our specially formulated mix feeds for up to 6 months for more blooms and more color*. Use with indoor and outdoor container plants. Grows Plants Twice as Big!®* *vs. unfed plants
If the item details above aren’t accurate or complete, we want to know about it.

Shipping details

Estimated ship dimensions: 14.7 inches length x 11.3 inches width x 3.3 inches height
Estimated ship weight: 5.5 pounds

Return details

This item can be returned to any Target store or Target.com.
This item must be returned within 90 days of the date it was purchased in store, shipped, delivered by a Shipt shopper, or made ready for pickup.
See the return policy for complete information.

Q: Can leftover potting mix be saved and stored for months at a time?

submitted by chrisp - 5 years ago
  • A: I have done this and it does tend to dry out.

    submitted byKBD - 5 years ago
  • A: I twist & seal with a tie or ribber band or get a big plastic storage container to use just for this.

    submitted bylafcom - 3 years ago
  • A: I keep a bag of potting soil until it is used up and that may take up to a year. There is nothing the matter with it, just add some water and the proper fertilizer and everything will be fine.

    submitted byTexas Lady - 5 years ago
  • A: I wouldn’t recommend it unless you can seal the bag very well. My bag was taped closed but somehow flies/ moths got in and were able to breed. I kept the bag rolled up and taped. It was also stored in an indoor utility closet. Soil definitely wasn’t dry but was infested in a months time.

    submitted byShiberu - 5 years ago
  • A: Yes. Our Miracle grow Premium Potting Mix can be stored indefinitely. Simply tape or roll top of potting soil bags shut. If you have additional questions or want more information, please contact us. The following link will take you to our contact page: http://tinyurl.com/noc5mcg

    submitted byScottsCustomerCare - 5 years ago
    Brand expert

Q: Can this potting soil be used with orchids?

submitted by Nicole - 5 years ago
  • A: No. The potting media used for orchids are chosen to imitate “life on a rainforest tree.” Most common types of orchid potting mix consist primarily of small pieces of fir bark that's main function is to stabilize the plant and promote root growth. We would recommend one of our two Miracle-Gro Orchid Potting Mix products, one that is a course blend and one a fine blend. Please do not hesitate to contact us if we can be of any additional help to you. Our phone number is 877-220-3089 and we ask that you please refer to your review when calling.

    submitted byScottsCustomerCare - 5 years ago
    Brand expert
  • A: I would use the Miracle Gro Potting mix because it is what I would have on hand but as of now I do not own an orchid. I would try to Google up some professional help or stop by a nursery for answers.

    submitted byTexas Lady - 5 years ago

Q: SHould I use this with my Peace Lily?

submitted by need2no - 9 months ago
  • A: Miracle-Gro Potting Mix can be used for potting ornamental plants.

    submitted byMiracle-gro Team - 9 months ago
    Brand expert

Q: I just received a small Umbrella plant that's in a 4" pot. It is pretty full (the planter) and I want to transplant it into a bigger pot. Would this be the right kind of soil to use for that?

submitted by Sandie - 10 months ago
  • A: Miracle-Gro Premium Potting Mix is safe for potting all ornamental plants.

    submitted byMiracle-gro Team - 10 months ago
    Brand expert

Q: Is this potting mix suitable for calatheas?

submitted by Marina - 2 years ago
  • A: Miracle-Gro Potting Mix is safe for potting ornamental plants in containers.

    submitted byMiracle-gro Team - 2 years ago
    Brand expert

Q: Would this potting soil be acceptable to use with succulents?

submitted by Mothgirl - 2 years ago
  • A: Mothgirl, yes, you can use the Miracle Gro Potting Mix to plant succulents.

    submitted byMiracle-gro Team - 2 years ago
    Brand expert

Q: Am planting germinated seeds in dirt. Plants grown this year have died from Hail then 107 deg temp. Need a cheat. Would it be better to mix this with dirt(Dusty holds water but solidifies in heat) or lay over my dirt(not soil)?

submitted by - 3 years ago
  • A: Thank you for your question regarding Miracle-Gro Premium Potting Mix. We would be more than glad to recommend you a product that will better suit your needs. At your earliest convenience, please contact us at http://tinyurl.com/noc5mcg.

    submitted byMiracle-gro Team - 3 years ago
    Brand expert

Q: can this potting soil be used for herb small garden

submitted by sue - 3 years ago
  • A: All Miracle-Gro Potting soils/mixes can be use for planting edibles (fruits and vegetables and herbs) in containers or raised beds.

    submitted byMiracle-gro Team - 3 years ago
    Brand expert

Q: Why don’t you list the ingredients?

submitted by Ro - 3 years ago
  • A: We appreciate your interest in Miracle-Gro Premium Potting Mix. This product is formulated from one or more of the following: processed forest products, peat, coir, and/or compost, as well as sphagnum peat moss, perlite, fertilizer and a wetting agent. You can contact us if you need further assistance. We can be reached at 877-220-3089.

    submitted byMiracle-gro Team - 3 years ago
    Brand expert

Q: I used this in my containers this year. Should I still use my Miracle Gro flower food weekly?

submitted by Sue - 4 years ago
  • A: Your interest in Miracle-Gro Premium Potting Mix is appreciated. You will need to wait 30 days before applying another fertilizer. We encourage you to contact us at http://tinyurl.com/noc5mcg if there is anything else that we can assist you with.

    submitted byScottsCustomerCare - 4 years ago
    Brand expert
3.9 out of 5 stars with 1718 reviews
72% would recommend
120 recommendations
value: 3.72 out of 5
quality: 3.93 out of 5

Potting soil

5 out of 5 stars
Would recommend
Buckeyelizrd - 21 days ago
Great for indoor plants.
quality: 5 out of 5
value: 5 out of 5
1 guest found this review helpful. Did you?

Very popular potting soil by reputation.

5 out of 5 stars
Would recommend
Judys Favorites - 21 days ago
Great all purpose potting soil.
value: 5 out of 5
quality: 5 out of 5
Did you find this review helpful?

MIRACLE GRO POTTING MIX

5 out of 5 stars
Would recommend
cl - 22 days ago
This is the only potting soil I use. It hold the moisture and is easy to work with.
quality: 5 out of 5
value: 3 out of 5
Did you find this review helpful?

check your bag before use for termites

1 out of 5 stars
Lmm - 1 month ago
originally posted on Miracle-Gro
Last year I bought this two large bags last year for my garden and I saw a little white bugs in it didn’t pay attention to it so I’ve planted in some pots some started plants and a week later they were dying I dug them up and the roots and everything had been eaten and I looked and there’s little termites ruined my plants but I thought it was my fault this year I bought two more big bags are you gonna plant some peas along the fence line started pouring it out in a row and there’s these little white bugs again coming out of the bag with the dirt they are termites little white termites this is ridiculous how can you grow plants when the termites will damage them and multiplyOn your property besides this is terrible
1 reply from Customer Care team - 29 days ago
We're sorry you were disappointed. We would like to understand more about your experience and what we can do better. At your earliest convenience, please reach out to us at 877-220-3089.
3 guests found this review helpful. Did you?

I don't like this mix anymore, it's changed

1 out of 5 stars
Richard - 2 months ago
originally posted on Miracle-Gro
I have used Miracle-gro potting mix for 20 some years for my 60 potted plants and loved the product but in the past 3 years the ingredients has been changed. It dries out quicker and gets hard. I noticed that there is a lot more bark in the mix and less perlite, vermiculite, and peat moss. Will be looking for another product. I've been told Fox Farm potting mix is good, I will give that product a try, and see how that works.
1 reply from Consumer Services team - 2 months ago
Richard, we're sorry to hear you weren't satisfied with Miracle-Gro Potting Mix and appreciate your feedback. Reach out to us here for assistance with our product guarantee: https://www.miraclegro.com/en-us/help-center
4 guests found this review helpful. Did you?

Beware of gnats and poor soil drainage !!

1 out of 5 stars
Would not recommend
Bkplants - 2 months ago, Verified purchaser
Like others mentioned, there is definitely a fungus gnat problem with this soil. At first it seems okay when I potted my plants but suddenly my plants have the gnats and I had to throw one away and it seemed like I had no more gnats. I just repotted another plant hoping for a different outcome but two days later I have gnats again. Not only that but the water doesn’t drain well with this soil. It sits on the top, which also make the gnat problem worse. Never buying this brand again.
1 reply from Miracle-Gro Consumer Services team - 2 months ago
We're sorry to read about your disappointment with Miracle-Gro Premium Potting Mix and appreciate your feedback. Insects could not survive the composting and packing process. However, it is possible for them to enter the bag during shipping and storage. Insect may also come in with soil of transplanted plant or enter through cracks, crevices, open windows or doors simply looking for suitable environment. We want you to be confident in our products. For this reason, we offer a product guarantee to our consumers. At your earliest convenience, please reach out to us at 877-220-3089 if we can further assist.
quality: 1 out of 5
value: 1 out of 5
2 guests found this review helpful. Did you?

Fungus Gnats

1 out of 5 stars
clara - 2 months ago
originally posted on Miracle-Gro
I use this soil for my 20+ indoor plants. For the last year, I've been battling a fungus gnat infestation. After trial and error with different methods, I've been able to get them under control, but not before losing a couple plants. I was unsure of the source of the gnats, until I opened two sealed bags of this soil that were crawling with them! Looking through these reviews, I can't believe customers have been complaining about this problem for almost 10 years and nothing's changed. Never buying again.
1 reply from Consumer Services team - 2 months ago
clara, we're sorry to hear you had an issue with fungus gnats after using Miracle-Gro Potting Mix and appreciate your feedback. Our soils contain organic materials that can attract insects during shipping and storage. Reach out to us here for assistance with our product guarantee: https://www.miraclegro.com/en-us/help-center
6 guests found this review helpful. Did you?

Fungus maybe a bad batch

1 out of 5 stars
Vi - 2 months ago, Verified purchaser
I also had fungus nats. Killed all of my basil I thought it was just me but until I read these reviews it sealed the deal. Disappointed. Hopefully new batches will come out better
1 reply from Miracle-Gro Consumer Services team - 2 months ago
We're sorry to read about your disappointment with Miracle-Gro Potting Mix and appreciate your feedback. Fungus gnats do not typically damage houseplants but they are a nuisance. The larvae look like tiny white grubs or maggots and feed on the fungus that naturally grows in potting soil. The adults are small and dark and may enter the air holes in the bag to lay eggs while the soil is waiting for sale. We recommend you let the soil dry out between each watering. Dry soil can help kill the larvae; overwatering can make the problem worse. You also could apply at least 1/2 inch of horticultural sand on top of the soil of established potted container plants. The larvae cannot burrow through the sand and will die. We want you to be confident in our products. For this reason, we offer a product guarantee to our consumers. At your earliest convenience, please reach out to us at 877-220-3089 if we can further assist.
quality: 1 out of 5
value: 1 out of 5
2 guests found this review helpful. Did you?

So sad!

1 out of 5 stars
Rindy - 3 months ago
originally posted on Miracle-Gro
I have always used miracle grow with no issues, however not happy this year, the first two bags had obvious bugs thew those out, third bag tried baking the bugs out, was a real hassle threw the remaining dirt away. The last bag I bought looked good, so I thought, every plant I used the dirt in is so INFESTED with bugs I'm going crazy! I'm scared to buy more of your dirt. So disappointed!!!
1 reply from Consumer Services team - 3 months ago
We're sorry to hear this happened after using Miracle-Gro Soils and appreciate your feedback. Our soils contain organic materials that can attract insects during shipping and storage. Reach out to us here for assistance with our product guarantee: https://www.miraclegro.com/en-us/help-center
2 guests found this review helpful. Did you?

Fungus Gnats for me, too

1 out of 5 stars
guessidontget2haveplants - 3 months ago
originally posted on Miracle-Gro
Like many reviewers, as soon as I started potting plants indoors with this specific soil, I had a massive fungus gnat infestation. It's cost hundreds of dollars to treat my home (they moved into drains, as well). All because I bought the wrong brand of soil. I have like 6 UV bug traps around the home over 2 months later that are still catching the nasty things, even after being forced to throw out all of my houseplants. Infestation is slowly resolving but it's been almost 3 months. I did try to treat the problem before I eventually threw away all my plants. Worse, I can't start any new plants until the problem is entirely resolved. So I get to go into winter with no green plants and no flowers to liven up my space, and have a home unsuitable for starting any new plants of any kind. I should also add that the little slow release "nutrient" orbs/globes ended up causing problems for one of my plants, too, and it didn't make it.
1 reply from Consumer Services team - 3 months ago
We're sorry to hear this happened after using Miracle-Gro Potting Mix and appreciate your feedback. Our soils contain organic materials that can attract insects during shipping and storage. Reach out to us here for assistance with our product guarantee: https://www.miraclegro.com/en-us/help-center
1 guest found this review helpful. Did you?

Great purchase at reasonable price.

5 out of 5 stars
Would recommend
Mike - 3 months ago, Verified purchaser
I thought that this bag was about one third the size that it ended up being when I went in to pick it up, so for the price that I paid for it I definately received a great deal, I even had enough left over to give to my Mom a few plants that she had.
quality: 5 out of 5
value: 5 out of 5
Did you find this review helpful?

Disappointed

1 out of 5 stars
Donna 22 - 3 months ago
originally posted on Miracle-Gro
I bought a large bag of MiracleGro potting mix this past Spring to repot my indoor plants and outdoor containers (as I have done for years) and when I started to use the soil I discovered MANY rocks in it. When I say MANY, I am not exaggerating. There were small stones and much larger ones (one was as large as the palm of my hand and was discarded along with the others). I continued to use the soil, but have stopped because I have found that I now have white mold growing on the surface - even when I allow the soil to dry out and try to remove it. Several of the repotted plants have wilted and died. They are in a well-lighted area with good air circulation and are not over-watered. This is the first time that I have experienced this over many years of both indoor and outdoor gardening. I sterilize my pots and use routinely cleaned tools, so the only variable would seem to be this large bag of soil. I will not use the rest of it and sadly will not purchase another.
1 reply from Consumer Services team - 3 months ago
Donna, we're sorry to hear about your experience with Miracle-Gro Potting Mix and we'd like to help. Contact us here for assistance with our product guarantee: https://www.miraclegro.com/en-us/help-center
2 guests found this review helpful. Did you?

Plant love

5 out of 5 stars
Would recommend
Med school mom - 3 months ago, Verified purchaser
Give my plants the love they need
value: 5 out of 5
quality: 5 out of 5
Did you find this review helpful?

Awful!

1 out of 5 stars
Diane - 4 months ago
originally posted on Miracle-Gro
This is not soil/dirt. It is some kind of mixture of peat, mulch and miracle grow fertilizer. When you water, the water runs right through, the Mix does not hold water. Thought I was buying top-grade stuff, guess not! I will stick with old fashion dirt/soil.
1 reply from Consumer Services team - 4 months ago
Diane, we're sorry to hear you weren't satisfied with Miracle-Gro Potting Mix and appreciate your feedback. Reach out to us here if we can assist you with our product guarantee: https://www.miraclegro.com/en-us/help-center
2 guests found this review helpful. Did you?

Fall Mums

5 out of 5 stars
Would recommend
Danielle - 4 months ago, Verified purchaser
i repotted these store bought Mums in hopes to make them last through Dec
value: 5 out of 5
quality: 5 out of 5
Did you find this review helpful?

M-G Uses dye in the planter soil

1 out of 5 stars
MikeC - 4 months ago
originally posted on Miracle-Gro
M-G ruin my Vinyl deck where the water drianed from my tomato planter onto my deck. I used every possible stain remover to no avail.
1 reply from Consumer Services team - 4 months ago
We're sorry to hear this happened after using Miracle-Gro Potting Mix. We'd like to gather some additional information and assist you with our product guarantee. Please reach out to us here: https://www.miraclegro.com/en-us/help-center
1 guest found this review helpful. Did you?

Gnats and more gnats!

1 out of 5 stars
Nonickname - 5 months ago
originally posted on Miracle-Gro
I am so upset,...I have used this product for years and the last two bags I bought in the last month have infected two of my most beautiful houseplants with gnats! I wish I had NEVER repotted them using this! What this product costs AND it is not sanitized is ridiculous. I will never buy this again. I've bought this for 30 years NEVER have I had this be a problem. I'm a very experienced houseplant person - I guess I now have to bake dirt and water w hydrogen peroxide. I had to throw out a huge peace lily and now another one (4ft mother in law tongue) this morning! That I repotted last week. Gnats in my house it is gross. What ever you are doing different or not doing...needs investigation. I have bought this easily hundreds of times!
1 reply from Consumer Services team - 5 months ago
We're sorry to hear you had an issue with gnats after using Miracle-Gro Potting Mix and appreciate your feedback. Insects and insect eggs would not survive the composting and packing process. Our soils contain organic materials that can attract insects during shipping and while awaiting sale. We do not sterilize our soils, as that would also destroy beneficial microbes in the soil. Allowing the soil to dry out as much as possible between waterings will help control them. Reach out here for assistance with our product guarantee: https://www.miraclegro.com/en-us/help-center
5 guests found this review helpful. Did you?

How terrible is this soil? Terrible!!!

1 out of 5 stars
Gnatty Problem - 5 months ago
originally posted on Miracle-Gro
I trustingly bought a couple bags of MG potting mix and holy moly after two weeks I had hundreds of fungus gnats I had to toss a huge Peace Lily and do battle for 3 months to get rid of them NO MORE of this companies products EVER!
1 reply from Consumer Services team - 5 months ago
We're sorry to hear you had an issue with gnats after using Miracle-Gro Potting Mix. Our soils contain organic materials that can attract insects during shipping or while awaiting sale. Allowing the soil to dry out as much as possible between waterings will help control them. Reach out to us here for assistance with our product guarantee: https://www.miraclegro.com/en-us/help-center
2 guests found this review helpful. Did you?

Full of gnats

1 out of 5 stars
Cat - 5 months ago
originally posted on Miracle-Gro
I bought a huge bag of Miracle Gro potting soil to repot all my house plants and had such a large infestation of gnats. I used sticky bug catchers in pots and had hundreds of gnats stuck to them. I used mosquito pellets to kill adults and used small pebbles to prevent them from laying eggs. The company wants you to put your soil out in sun to kill them. Who has time and space for that when you can buy another brand and not have issues. Will not be purchasing this product again
1 reply from Consumer Services team - 5 months ago
We're sorry to hear you had an issue with gnats after using Miracle-Gro Potting Mix. Our soils contain organic materials that can attract insects during shipping and storage. Allowing the soil to dry out as much as possible between waterings will help control them. Reach out to us here for assistance with our product guarantee: https://www.miraclegro.com/en-us/help-center
4 guests found this review helpful. Did you?

Potting Soil

1 out of 5 stars
CarolAnn - 6 months ago
originally posted on Miracle-Gro
Miracle Gro is my go-to potting soil and has never disappointed me. My plants always grow well. I ordered two bags as they were easier to handle. I use this for everything. Delivery is quick and reliable.
1 reply from Consumer Services team - 5 months ago
CarolAnn, thank you for your feedback on Miracle-Gro Potting Mix. Reach out to us here if we can offer any assistance: https://www.miraclegro.com/en-us/help-center
1 guest found this review helpful. Did you?

Get top deals, latest trends, and more.

Privacy policy

Footer

About Us

About TargetCareersNews & BlogTarget BrandsBullseye ShopTarget's Coronavirus ResponseSustainability & ESGPress CenterAdvertise with UsInvestorsAffiliates & PartnersSuppliersTargetPlus

Help

Target HelpReturnsTrack OrdersRecallsContact UsFeedbackAccessibilitySecurity & FraudTeam Member Services

Stores

Find a StoreClinicPharmacyOpticalMore In-Store Services

Services

Target CircleRedCardTarget AppRegistrySame Day DeliveryOrder PickupDrive UpFree 2-Day ShippingShipping & DeliveryMore Services
PinterestFacebookInstagramTwitterYoutubeTiktokTermsCA Supply ChainPrivacyCA Privacy RightsYour Privacy Choices - CAInterest Based Ads