Back to SchoolCollegeGroceryClothing, Shoes & AccessoriesHomeOutdoor Living & GardenFurnitureKitchen & DiningElectronicsVideo GamesToysSports & OutdoorsMovies, Music & BooksBabyHousehold EssentialsBeautyUlta Beauty at TargetPersonal CareHealthPetsSchool & Office SuppliesArts, Crafts & SewingParty SuppliesLuggageGift IdeasGift CardsCharacter ShopBullseye’s PlaygroundTarget OpticalClearanceTarget New Arrivals Target Finds #TargetStylePrideLGBTQIA+ ShopBlack Beyond MeasureMás QueWomen-Owned Brands at TargetAsian-Owned Brands at Target Top DealsTarget Circle DealsWeekly AdShop Order PickupShop Same Day DeliveryRegistryRedCardTarget CircleFind Stores

Sponsored

Wrong Alibi - by Christina Dodd (Paperback)

Wrong Alibi - by Christina Dodd (Paperback) - image 1 of 1
Wrong Alibi - by Christina Dodd (Paperback) - image 1 of 1
$13.40 sale price when purchased online
$17.99 list price

About this item

Description



About the Book



"Eighteen-year-old Evelyn Jones lands a job in small-town Alaska, working for a man in his isolated mountain home. But her bright hopes for the future are shattered when Donald White disappears, leaving her to face charges of theft, embezzlement--and a brutal double murder. Her protestations of innocence count for nothing. Convicted, she faces life in prison...until fate sends her on the run. Evie's escape leaves her scarred and in hiding, isolated from her family, working under an alias at a wilderness camp. Bent on justice, intent on recovering her life, she searches for the killer who slaughters without remorse. At last, the day comes. Donald White has returned. Evie emerges from hiding; the fugitive becomes the hunter. But in her mind, she hears the whisper of other forces at work. Now Evelyn must untangle the threads of evidence before she's once again found with blood on her hands: the blood of her own family..."--Publisher's description.



Book Synopsis



Perfect for fans of Lisa Jewell, New York Times bestselling author Christina Dodd delivers an all-new thriller, featuring a bold and brash female protagonist.

WRONG JOB
Eighteen-year-old Evelyn Jones lands a job in small-town Alaska, working for a man in his isolated mountain home. But her bright hopes for the future are shattered when Donald White disappears, leaving her to face charges of theft, embezzlement--and a brutal double murder. Her protestations of innocence count for nothing. Convicted, she faces life in prison...until fate sends her on the run.

WRONG NAME
Evie's escape leaves her scarred and in hiding, isolated from her family, working under an alias at a wilderness camp. Bent on justice, intent on recovering her life, she searches for the killer who slaughters without remorse.

WRONG ALIBI
At last, the day comes. Donald White has returned. Evie emerges from hiding; the fugitive becomes the hunter. But in her mind, she hears the whisper of other forces at work. Now Evelyn must untangle the threads of evidence before she's once again found with blood on her hands: the blood of her own family...

"This is Dodd at her brilliant best."
--Booklist (starred review) on Strangers She Knows

Dodd's twisty suspense will have readers turning the pages and keeping the lights on at night.



Review Quotes



"If Lisa Jewell, Ruth Ware and Lucy Foley are on your Mount Rushmore of suspense writers, Dodd's latest release definitely needs a spot on your shelf."--E! News

"No one does high-stakes, high-voltage suspense quite like Dodd."--Booklist (starred review)

"Christina Dodd reinvents the romantic thriller. Her signature style-edgy, intense, twisty, emotional-leaves you breathless from first page to last. Readers who enjoy Nora Roberts will devour Dodd's electrifying novels." --Jayne Anne Krentz, New York Times bestselling author

"Books To Read If You Love Nora Roberts."--Bookbub

"Dodd's gripping voice will appeal to fans of Sandra Brown, Nora Roberts, Linda Howard & Jayne Ann Krentz."--Mystery Tribune Review

"Action-packed, littered with dead bodies, and brimming with heartfelt emotion, this edgy thriller keeps the tension high."--Library Journal starred review for What Doesn't Kill Her

"Complex, intense, and engrossing, this riveting romantic thriller has a chilling gothic touch and just enough red herrings and twists to keep readers on edge." --Library Journal (starred review) on Dead Girl Running

"Dead Girl Running is the perfect book for fans of The Girl on the Train." --Parade Magazine on Dead Girl Running

Tough-as-nails Evelyn Jones knows exactly what it is like to be an invisible woman. After her former employer, Donald White, frames her for murder, Evie is headed for a lifetime behind bars until something unexpected happens and she is able to flee. Reinventing herself as Petie, the effective yet enigmatic manager of the remotely located Midnight Sun Fishing Camp, she spends the next decade living under the radar. When Evie learns that White has resurfaced in Alaska, she decides that it's time to settle an old score. As far as Evie is concerned, the best thing about being invisible is that your enemy never sees you coming. Dodd (Strangers She Knows, 2019) ingeniously transforms her initially TSTL (Too Stupid to Live) protagonist into a formidable purveyor of vengeance, all while delivering a twist-rich, page-turning plot that is enhanced by a generous serving of deliciously dry wit. As with all her fiendishly clever suspense novels, Dodd's latest should come with a warning label: may cause sleeplessness even after the reader reaches the last page.
-- Booklist Starred Review

Dimensions (Overall): 8.1 Inches (H) x 5.4 Inch (W) x 1.1 Inch (D)
Weight: .65 Pounds
Suggested Age: 22 Years and Up
Number of Pages: 400
Genre: Fiction + Literature Genres
Sub-Genre: Thrillers
Publisher: Hqn
Format: Paperback
Author: Christina Dodd
Book theme: Suspense
Language: English
Street Date: December 29, 2020
TCIN: 79663791
UPC: 9781335080820
Item Number (DPCI): 059-04-0748
Origin: Made in the USA
If the item details above aren’t accurate or complete, we want to know about it.

Shipping details

Estimated ship dimensions: 1 inches length x 5.31 inches width x 8 inches height
Estimated ship weight: 0.64 pounds
We regret that this item cannot be shipped to PO Boxes.
This item cannot be shipped to the following locations: United States Minor Outlying Islands, American Samoa (see also separate entry under AS), Puerto Rico (see also separate entry under PR), Northern Mariana Islands, Virgin Islands, U.S., APO/FPO, Guam (see also separate entry under GU)

Return details

This item can be returned to any Target store or Target.com.
This item must be returned within 30 days of the date it was purchased in store, shipped, delivered by a Shipt shopper, or made ready for pickup.
See the return policy for complete information.
5.0 out of 5 stars with 1 reviews
100% would recommend
1 recommendations

I couldn't put it down!

5 out of 5 stars
Thumbs up graphic, would recommend
Brat81978 - 3 years ago
I absolutely loved this book and had a hard time putting it down. Evelyn was such a great character and I found myself yelling at her in my head as I watched Donald White set her up perfectly for murder. I did find it odd how anyone associated with her probation/prison time seemed to disappear and wonder if White had something to do with that somehow. She had no one to help clear her name and the way everything played out was like a finely choreographed dance. I also loved how her mother came to realize what Evie said was true concerning the man she was dating and that was probably one of my favorite parts of the book to be honest....well that and how her sister Marya played a part in trying to clear her name so she could come home. I always love Christina Dodd’s books, but this one was next level amazing!
Did you find this review helpful?

Get top deals, latest trends, and more.

Privacy policy

Footer

About Us

About TargetCareersNews & BlogTarget BrandsBullseye ShopSustainability & GovernancePress CenterAdvertise with UsInvestorsAffiliates & PartnersSuppliersTargetPlus

Help

Target HelpReturnsTrack OrdersRecallsContact UsFeedbackAccessibilitySecurity & FraudTeam Member Services

Stores

Find a StoreClinicPharmacyOpticalMore In-Store Services

Services

Target Circle™Target Circle™ CardTarget Circle 360™Target AppRegistrySame Day DeliveryOrder PickupDrive UpFree 2-Day ShippingShipping & DeliveryMore Services
PinterestFacebookInstagramXYoutubeTiktokTermsCA Supply ChainPrivacyCA Privacy RightsYour Privacy ChoicesInterest Based AdsHealth Privacy Policy