Infant Optics Video Baby Monitor DXR-8

Infant Optics Video Baby Monitor DXR-8 - image 1 of 4Infant Optics Video Baby Monitor DXR-8 - image 2 of 4Infant Optics Video Baby Monitor DXR-8 - image 3 of 4Infant Optics Video Baby Monitor DXR-8 - image 4 of 4
Infant Optics Video Baby Monitor DXR-8 - image 1 of 4
$165.99When purchased online

About this item

At a glance

Battery Power Source
Battery Power Source

Highlights

  • Note: NOT compatible with DXR-8 PRO model
  • Infant Optics is the #1 Video Baby Monitor *(Source: The NPD Group, Inc., U.S. Retail Tracking Service, Baby Monitors, based on dollar sales, 12 months ending Feb 2020)
  • PERFECT SIZE & WEIGHT RATIO - no large batteries to power energy-hungry large screens. The DXR-8 is light-weight and portable, designed for true mobility around the house.
  • FULL VIEWING CONTROL - The DXR-8 is a baby monitor with camera features such as pan/tilt/zoom and interchangeable lens. Fit the zoom lens to see closer, or zoom out with the wide angle lens. Expandable up to 4 cameras
  • ROBUST AND MATURE HARDWARE - the DXR-8 is fine tuned and refined over years of iteration from feedback of real users. Trusted by over a million parents, our award winning monitor is backed by vigorous testing and quality control.
  • PRIVACY GUARANTEED - Video and audio is transmitted via a secure 2.4GHz channel with FHSS technology. This ensures no data is shared through the internet.

Specifications

Dimensions (Overall): 3 Inches (H) x 5 Inches (W) x 1 Inches (D)

Weight: 1 Pounds

Features: Out of Range Indicator, Temperature Reading, Night Vision, Low Battery Indicator, 2-Way Talk, Volume Control

Includes: Wall Mounting Kit, 1 Charging Base, Changeable Camera Lens

Wireless Frequency/Band: 2.4 GHz

Screen Size: 3.5 Inches

Industry or Government Certifications: No Certifications

Number of Units Supported: 4

Maximum Operating Range: 700 Feet

Number of channels: 4 frequency channels

Power Source: Battery

Battery: 1 Non-Universal Lithium Ion, Required, Included

Warranty: 1 Year Limited Warranty. To obtain a copy of the manufacturer's or supplier's warranty for this item prior to purchasing the item, please call Target Guest Services at 1-800-591-3869

TCIN: 52918573
UPC: 858779002509
Item Number (DPCI): 030-04-3309
Origin: Imported

Description

The Infant Optics DXR-8 Video Monitor is the first baby monitor with interchangeable lens technology. Three separate lens types normal, wide angle (sold separately) and zoom allow you to choose the most suitable focal length and viewing angle for the specific environment, just like a professional camera system. Video is streamed in real-time to a compact 3-1/2 in. LCD color display providing a crystal clear image without any delay. The DXR-8 is packed with a roster of advanced features for added convenience including remote camera pan/tilt, infrared night vision, talk-back function, digital zoom, room temperature sensor and more. Buy from the most trusted baby monitor experts since 2011, backed by 7-days a week live customer service technical support. 110v-240v compatible.
Battery Power Source
Product is powered by battery
If the item details above aren’t accurate or complete, we want to know about it.

Shipping details

Estimated ship dimensions: 8.63 inches length x 9.53 inches width x 4 inches height
Estimated ship weight: 2.02 pounds
We regret that this item cannot be shipped to PO Boxes.
This item cannot be shipped to the following locations: Guam (see also separate entry under GU), United States Minor Outlying Islands, American Samoa (see also separate entry under AS), Puerto Rico (see also separate entry under PR), APO/FPO, Northern Mariana Islands, Virgin Islands, U.S.

Return details

This item must be returned to any Target store.
This item must be returned within 90 days of the date it was purchased in store, shipped, delivered by a Shipt shopper, or made ready for pickup.
See the return policy for complete information.

Q: How is the night vision?

submitted by Scooba - 5 years ago
  • A: Night vision feature is really good. Our baby is four months and we’ve had zero issues with it.

    submitted byOsu123 - 4 years ago
  • A: It’s great we tried other monitors but this one works the best. Would recommend.

    submitted byOsu123 - 4 years ago
  • A: Good until it quits working after 6 months.

    submitted byBlaze - 3 years ago

Q: Can you link the video feed from this camera to an app on your phone?

submitted by Courtney h - 5 years ago
  • A: no you cannot. it is a wifi free unit and only reports to the receiver

    submitted bymsaunders - 7 months ago
  • A: I have this product and I’m not aware of an app for the baby monitor.

    submitted byOsu123 - 4 years ago
  • A: Not that I know of. You should contact company to see

    submitted byMrs - 5 years ago

Q: Is it true that when u register it you get a free extra camera??

submitted by Beth - 5 years ago
  • A: I received one if I completed a review. It is super great having 2 once the baby started moving around in the crib

    submitted byEricka Z - 3 years ago
  • A: This should be a tell-tale sign that they are boosting reviews immediately after purchase because if you've owned it for longer than 6 months, its garbage.

    submitted byBlaze - 3 years ago
  • A: I received this from my registry, and I only got the one.

    submitted byHoosierMama - 5 years ago

Q: Is this camera wireless?

submitted by vita - 2 years ago
  • A: No, the camera is not wireless, the monitor can be

    submitted byMorgan - 1 year ago
  • A: Yes, it's wireless and the transmission range is up to 700 feet (line of sight, no obstruction).

    submitted byInfant Optics - 2 years ago
    Brand expert

Q: Does the monitor have the capability to support 2 cameras?

submitted by MVR - 3 years ago
  • A: Yes, the monitor can be paired with up to 4 camera units. See section 3.5 of the manual for detailed pairing instructions.

    submitted byInfant Optics - 3 years ago
    Brand expert
  • A: Can I use it on the go for the car?

    submitted byClaire - 2 years ago

Q: Does this monitor have sound? First-time, soon-to-be mommy here and worried that we won't be able to hear baby with this monitor. Thanks in advance for your help!

submitted by KristinaJ - 5 years ago
  • A: You can hear well. However, the microphone has a constant white noise sound you hear from the monitor side. It is way louder than your children and drowns them out. It's awful. I wish they would get a better speaker that only pics up your children! Huge flaw

    submitted byMjheat - 2 years ago
  • A: Yes it has sound. You can hear everything with this monitor. It has several volume settings, but we just keep it on the highest setting. I can hear perfectly when our baby moves, etc. Its a good camera.

    submitted byOsu123 - 4 years ago

Q: Does this have a function where you can turn screen off and use it as an audio monitor?

submitted by swimlat - 5 years ago
  • A: Yes, there’s a button on top of the baby monitor to turn the screen off but keep the audio on. It saves about 50% of the battery.

    submitted byOsu123 - 4 years ago
  • A: They do have a sleep mode, you can short press the power on/off/sleep button to turn the LCD screen off while keeping the audio on.

    submitted byPnymom - 5 years ago

Q: I am not sure what type of battery this includes, bought as a gift and want to take it on an airplane. Will I HAVE ANY PROBLEMS HAVING THIS IN MY BAG?

submitted by TERRI - 2 months ago
  • A: It's a rechargeable lithium ion battery. It's allowed to be carried with the passenger in carry-on baggage.

    submitted byInfant Optics - 2 months ago
    Brand expert

Q: Does the camera need to be plugged in? or is it battery powered/ rechargeable?

submitted by Caitlin - 2 months ago
  • A: The camera unit requires plugged in to operate.

    submitted byInfant Optics - 2 months ago
    Brand expert

Q: Does this monitor have the ability to be portable? I can’t get it to turn on without being plugged in. Thank you!

submitted by AN2468 - 1 year ago
  • A: A full charge can provide up to 6 hours screen on, or 10 hours standby. For tech support, please call the number on the back of your monitor unit.

    submitted byInfant Optics - 1 year ago
    Brand expert
4.3 out of 5 stars with 2294 reviews
82% would recommend
1451 recommendations
quality: 4.24 out of 5
safety: 4.58 out of 5
design: 4.5 out of 5

Great customer service and simple system

5 out of 5 stars
AKJ - 7 days ago
Have used this camera system for 2 years-- very easy to set up, no large bright light on camera, closed circuit and pretty good picture. We recently ran into an issue with the display that stopped working and although we were well past the warranty, customer service let us swap out our display monitor vs. us having to buy a new system. Great service that will make us long time customers. I recommend!
design: 5 out of 5
safety: 5 out of 5
quality: 4 out of 5
Did you find this review helpful?

Not worth it.

2 out of 5 stars
Would not recommend
Jenhej1 - 8 days ago
The sound connection on the camera cuts in and out and is not consistent. While I love that it’s a non Wi-Fi camera it’s unbearable to sleep at night with it next you with the constant sound cutting in and out. Turning the volume down isn’t an option bc then you can’t hear your child. Customer service reccomend I re-pair the camera and monitor but that didn’t fix anything. My child is only 20is feet from our room also. Additionally the antenna no longer stays up and springs back down. Night vision could be better it’s not a clear image.
safety: 5 out of 5
quality: 1 out of 5
design: 4 out of 5
Did you find this review helpful?

Great product and customer service!

5 out of 5 stars
Would recommend
LM - 8 days ago
Received as a gift from a dear friend and the product still works great after a year! Ready to use out of the box and love that it requires no wifi. Their customer service is top notch as well. Highly recommend this product!
design: 5 out of 5
safety: 5 out of 5
quality: 5 out of 5
Did you find this review helpful?

Not for anyone who likes to sleep at night!

2 out of 5 stars
Would not recommend
Andreameta - 9 days ago, Verified purchaser
Very easy to setup, I like that it is also easy to mount. The ability to tilt the camera is also great. However, none of these things matter because it WILL NOT stay connected at night. Which means it’s constantly beeping at me while I’m trying to sleep. The sound quality isn’t great either. If my baby is in a full blown cry I can hear her, other than that I can’t hear much and what I can hear is really muffled.
safety: 2 out of 5
design: 4 out of 5
quality: 1 out of 5
Did you find this review helpful?

Not bad, not great

3 out of 5 stars
R Dorr - 12 days ago, Verified purchaser
night vision is horrible. returned product
1 guest found this review helpful. Did you?

Just OK

3 out of 5 stars
Would not recommend
MommE - 13 days ago, Verified purchaser
For the price of this baby monitor it is not worth it. The resolution is blurry, audio is not loud enough, battery does not last long, and it was much more expensive than others. It works as described and is just OK.
safety: 5 out of 5
1 guest found this review helpful. Did you?

Great product!

5 out of 5 stars
Would recommend
Amy - 15 days ago
have used this for roughly 9 months now and love it, works great, no issues. After my baby threw it on the floor, the screen cracked and customer service was amazing at working with me to get a replacement. would recommend this product!
Did you find this review helpful?

Infant Optics

4 out of 5 stars
Would recommend
kr1117 - 16 days ago
Great and easy camera to use! A friend recommended it to me because it doesn’t use wi-fi (she warned against cameras with wi-fi as it can be hacked by creeps). After using it for a little over a year, it suddenly stopped connecting to the monitor. Emma C from their support team responded to me very quickly!! She was able to get me a replacement unit even though my warranty was done!! Downside to the camera is its signal strength. It’s supposed to be like 700 feet, but that’s not enough for me. It would be nice if it could connect to my phone and I can see what my baby is up to when I’m out and she’s with the babysitter.
Did you find this review helpful?

Started great but issues happened quickly

2 out of 5 stars
Would not recommend
ssantana - 17 days ago, Verified purchaser
I was very pleased with this baby monitor for the first 1-2 months of use but after the antenna wouldn't stay up anymore. Everytime I put it up it would drop back down. Also the range dropped drastically to the point where it was saying out of range when we were on the same floor two rooms away. Today was the icing on the cake, the antenna just popped out when trying to stand it up again. The monitor was never mishandled however it did drop off our nightstand a couple of times but onto our heavily carpeted floor. For the price we paid we are very dissappointed with the quality we recieved
design: 1 out of 5
safety: 3 out of 5
quality: 2 out of 5
Did you find this review helpful?

Life span was a year

1 out of 5 stars
Would not recommend
TMS - 18 days ago
I’ve had this monitor just over a year. It froze up last night and then went black. Thought the battery just needed to be replaced so we purchased a new battery, still doesn’t work.
design: 3 out of 5
safety: 3 out of 5
quality: 1 out of 5
Did you find this review helpful?

Not good

2 out of 5 stars
Would not recommend
Caitlin - 29 days ago
Worked great the first 3 months. The battery stopped working and now it has to constantly be plugged in making it super inconvenient. I can't have my baby's bedroom door closed or else the connection drops. I'm annoyed I'll have to buy a new one. I would've registered for a nicer monitor if I knew!
design: 3 out of 5
safety: 3 out of 5
quality: 1 out of 5
Did you find this review helpful?

Great Company & Great Monitor!

5 out of 5 stars
Would recommend
Brisky86 - 1 month ago
We have owned this camera for aver two years now with this being a gift off of our baby registry. The device is easy to learn how to use and aim the camera where you need it to see your baby while they are in their bed. We charge ours twice a day in between naps and make sure that we unplug it after the charging light turns blue so that we don't wear out the battery too quickly. About two weeks ago (October 2022) our monitor stopped having audio go through the monitor. Contacting Infant Optics through trouble shooting it was determined to be a bad camera. The company only has a 1 year warranty but they were gracious enough to send us a new unit once we had mailed the old camera back. $13 in shipping later we got a replacement camera the next day and everything is working well again! Great company and great support that they did not have to give. Thank you Kristine Z! - Brian A.
design: 5 out of 5
quality: 5 out of 5
Did you find this review helpful?

Overall, worth it

4 out of 5 stars
Would recommend
hc - 1 month ago
Pros- it gets the job done! I like that I can carry the monitor around the house & (so far) it has good battery life. I’ve been using it for 8 weeks now. The settings are easy to get to and change, and I can see my daughter great on the monitor. My biggest con is the interference (that others have mentioned) that i experience. If I’m using my phone at next to it, the signal will cut out and beep loudly and it has also happened in the middle of the night too. It’s not frequent enough to make me want to use something else, but it can be frustrating in the middle of the night when I’m trying to check on my daughter. Overall, I’m happy with my purchase and will use it until it gives out on me!
quality: 4 out of 5
safety: 5 out of 5
design: 5 out of 5
Did you find this review helpful?

Video monitor

4 out of 5 stars
Would recommend
GirlMom4 - 1 month ago, Verified purchaser
I like that it comes with two different lenses and already paired prior to charging. The two way talk feature on my unit doesn’t work, but not a huge deal. It does the job!
design: 5 out of 5
quality: 4 out of 5
safety: 5 out of 5
Did you find this review helpful?

Great product and EXCELLENT customer service

5 out of 5 stars
Would recommend
dana3393 - 1 month ago
I have used this product for over two years now and it's wonderful. Even better is that when I did have some issues with the sound of the camera, I contacted customer service who immediately took care of the situation and helped trouble-sheet despite being past the warranty deadline. Will absolutely continue to support this company and product with baby #2!
design: 5 out of 5
safety: 5 out of 5
quality: 5 out of 5
Did you find this review helpful?

Everything interferes with the connection!

1 out of 5 stars
Would not recommend
newmom95 - 2 months ago, Verified purchaser
Your WiFi, your cellphone, your microwave, your TV. I live in a small house and the signal doesn’t reach my bedroom from the baby’s nursery because of all of the electronics we have connected to WiFi. How does this have so many stars when, if you live in a modern household, the sound/video is incredibly choppy and moody? Even after troubleshooting, putting our phones in another room, and unplugging our microwave - the sound cuts in and out every five seconds so loudly its impossible to sleep with it on. Bought for security but it is so bad and unusable it will have to be returned. Not worth the $$ at all.
Did you find this review helpful?

Great product.

5 out of 5 stars
Would recommend
Great product - 2 months ago
Had to get a replacement but the process was super easy. reached out to infant optics and told me clear instructions and they sent me a replacement camera within days and the camera works great no complaints.
safety: 5 out of 5
quality: 5 out of 5
design: 5 out of 5
Did you find this review helpful?

Audio stopped working after 2 weeks

3 out of 5 stars
KC - 2 months ago, Verified purchaser
I like that the camera and monitor are not connected to wifi and for the most part it does what I need for it to do, I can check on my baby and if I really need to listen I use the hatch since the audio in the monitor stopped working after a couple of weeks. It still shows the red light if it detects a loud sound so even if I can’t hear it still shows if the baby cries.
quality: 2 out of 5
design: 5 out of 5
safety: 5 out of 5
Did you find this review helpful?

Bad battery and screen

2 out of 5 stars
Would not recommend
BabyMomma - 2 months ago
Although the battery was terrible and we had to always keep it plugged in, it worked for a little over a year. The video quality was pretty good, but not amazing.
safety: 3 out of 5
Did you find this review helpful?

Great Monitor Except For Battery

3 out of 5 stars
Klive - 2 months ago
I live the quality of this camera and the receiver. My only problem is after a year it barely holds a battery charge. Even though it is on the charger all day it dies in the middle of the night.
safety: 5 out of 5
Did you find this review helpful?

Get top deals, latest trends, and more.

Privacy policy

Footer

About Us

About TargetCareersNews & BlogTarget BrandsBullseye ShopTarget's Coronavirus ResponseSustainability & ESGPress CenterAdvertise with UsInvestorsAffiliates & PartnersSuppliersTargetPlus

Help

Target HelpReturnsTrack OrdersRecallsContact UsFeedbackAccessibilitySecurity & FraudTeam Member Services

Stores

Find a StoreClinicPharmacyOpticalMore In-Store Services

Services

Target CircleRedCardTarget AppRegistrySame Day DeliveryOrder PickupDrive UpFree 2-Day ShippingShipping & DeliveryMore Services
PinterestFacebookInstagramTwitterYoutubeTiktokTermsCA Supply ChainPrivacyCA Privacy RightsDo Not Sell My Personal InformationInterest Based Ads